Car Insurance

Kennewick Pasco Yakima Tri-Cities Car Insurance

We do write car insurance. And lots of it.

According to the Washington State Department of Licensing, if you drive a vehicle that is required to be registered in Washington State, you must have auto insurance, self insurance, a certificate of deposit, or a liability bond. We can do the auto insurance for you, if you want one of the other three choices, check out the prior link for more details.

Auto insurance policies in Washington State must have liability limits of at least:

  • $25,000 of bodily injury or death of 1 person in any 1 accident.
  • $50,000 of bodily injury or death of any 2 people in any 1 accident.
  • $10,000 of injury to or destruction of property of others in any 1 accident.

You must be able to show your proof of auto insurance to law enforcement any time you drive in Washington. You receive a proof of insurance card from your auto insurance company when you buy the policy. This card must include all of the following:

  • Name of the insurance company.
  • Policy number.
  • Effective date & Expiration date of the policy.
  • Description of the insured vehicle or the name of the insured driver if it is a broadform policy.

Failing to show this proof of insurance to an officer is a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of at least $450 (though we have seen this fine reduced considerably, depending on the judge, if you show you have obtained insurance prior to your court date. Knowingly providing false evidence of coverage, including pretending your lapsed insurance card is still good, is a misdemeanor.

Motorcycles are one of the few exceptions to this requirement. For some reason Washington state does not require motorcycle riders to carry liability insurance. Check out our Motorcycle Insurance page to see why we recommend you carry it anyway.

Click here for more about Car Insurance